‘Pamela Schloesser Canepa’

d-timeToday, I’d like to welcome Pamela Schloesser Canepa, author of “Detours in Time” to The Thursday Interview. Before we get started, a quick intro!

Author Pamela Schloesser Canepa had a childhood full of travel and moving, fueling her writing of poems and stories as a child to provide entertainment for long trips. After a while, her family settled in the southeast. Writing provided an outlet for private thoughts and emotions for years, until she decided to self-publish fiction in 2016. Pamela’s genres include science fiction, paranormal fiction, and poetry of all types. The “Made for Me” series was Pamela’s first published fiction series. Currently, Pamela is working on a sequel to her time travel novel and hopes to publish an anthology of paranormal stories within the next year.

OK – HERE WE GO !!

No.1: Would you break the law to save a loved one? I’d have to say yes. Why? The reason I say yes, is because there are so many laws on the books that get broken by everyone, such as, jaywalking. If my loved one was in trouble and I had to get to them in a hurry, yes, I’d be jaywalking to get to them ASAP. I might even run a red light. I know that I’d lose some of my objectivity because of being overcome by emotion. Would I murder? Well, these laws are in different categories. I can’t imagine being in that situation. So, I’d say no to that one.

No.2: What is the difference between being alive and truly living? Alive is breathing, and for some, going through the motions. ‘Truly living’ is being able to delight in something on a daily basis. Perhaps it is doing what you love, or, being surrounded by those you love, and one can delight in that. One could give up doing what they really love to be able to be with those they love, and they might find it just another way to be truly living. So I believe there is more than one way to be ‘truly living.’

No.3: What motivates you to write? There is a part of my brain that won’t be quiet unless I do something with it. I don’t think it’s overactive, but these thoughts ideas will be lost to the wind if I do not write them down. I had a friend, when we were young, tell me about a grand book idea, but never wrote it down. I wasn’t told the idea either, but that friend is no longer with us. I enjoy writing, so now is the time to do it. Just the same, if you really enjoyed dancing, you should dance, until the day your legs give out. Then, find something else delightful, but if you died, you would have done what you loved. Our life is fleeting, and the end chases after us, but sometimes the world seems so still; those are the moments at the beach with my son, or snuggling with my dog on a hot summer’s day. There is a time to write and a time to rest, and I can do that as long as I am carving out time to write. Writing does relieve a lot of stress at times when I can’t make it to the beach, and work has been hectic. I love the escape.

No.4 : Why do humans want children? Maybe it’s because we want someone there for us in our old age, or it’s because are told we have to propagate. I have a child, and I would never want it any other way. The experience of childbirth was so rewarding and moving. I only had one. That was all I needed. You are giving the world a piece of you. I suppose it is similar to creating art, writing and publishing a book, etc.

No.5: What was the biggest challenge in creating your book, ”Detours in Time”? Well, it started as a great distraction for myself, thinking of the future and what we might see if we went there, at a time when I needed a distraction. So, at some point, I had to tighten up the plot. Yes, the story is a great getaway, but I needed to make the stakes more clear. I would also say that editing was a big challenge, as it always is. You get five people to look over your manuscript, and then the day of publication, you see you left out a letter in a word. One letter makes a huge difference! So, you load your manuscript again. Then you wait on your computer as it loads, so you can preview it again. You can’t really do anything else, though I’d be scrolling through my phone while I wait.

No.6: What is the most important thing you have learned in life so far? I have learned to treat others the way I like to be treated. That may not sound very original, but it prevents a lot of pain. My mother was always loving and nurturing. I was a real brat toward her in my adolescence. So in adulthood, I’ve tried much harder to treat her kindly and to appreciate her friendship. Sometimes my company is all she wants. So, I am learning the same with my own child, that there are phases we all go through when we are not dependent on parents, but one day we learn to appreciate them again, even if we don’t need them as much. I suppose this fits with the concept of karma and the popular Bible verse. Every religion seems to have a similar teaching.

No.7: How did you come up with the title “Detours in Time?” It wasn’t my original title. My original title was very basic, but it did fit with the concept of stepping into another time and place and it suddenly is changed just because of your present, much like Bradbury’s story, “A Sound of Thunder.” However, upon searching, I found so many similar titles to the original, that I decided to change it. By that time, I was well into the book and my characters had already made an unplanned detour. So the new title just fit. I think it also communicates quite well that this book is a sci-fi, time travel book.

No.8: How do you handle personal criticism? I handle it much better now than I did at the start of my writing adventure. It gets easier every time. I had a really harsh critic on a book website regarding a short story I had listed there. When he posted a second scathing review (accidentally) even after I’d made corrections, I decided to delete the story. It’s not going away though. It will re-surface, perhaps in an anthology. It will be well edited, though. To be honest, I did not edit it much before I posted it, as it was a sort of pulp fiction type story. So, what I am saying is, learn from criticism, but don’t let anyone beat you over the head with it. There’s just no reason for that. However, there’s also really no reason to respond to someone who does that. I’ve learned from it. With my published novellas, I have found that some readers love them, and others may not. It’s based on their personal preferences. It’s all a learning experience. I personally don’t read a book to criticize every flaw. I love to read, so if there is something positive in a book, my review reflects that, but I will also point out parts of the style that got in the way of my reading enjoyment.

No.9: Why should people read your book? “Detours in Time” will take you on a journey, but it will also make you care about the characters. It will make you think about our place in the universe and the overall scheme of things, as well as making you think what you would do in certain situations. It doesn’t hold the answers, but it makes you think about the age old questions of who we are and what our responsibility is to the universe.

No.10: Why is there something rather than nothing? I like your philosophical questions. It seems there is no right or wrong answer! Buddhists would probably tell you there really is nothing. I think they are telling us you have to be able to let go. I’m not a Buddhist, so that doesn’t work for me, though I have learned to let go of thoughts that are harmful and try to keep what delights me. Seinfeld would tell you that, if you have a show about nothing, it actually just includes everything, even the kitchen sink, so you can’t narrow it down to a particular something. Jesus would tell you that there certainly is something, and it all makes a difference; it was all planned. This all brings me to one of my favorite quotes, that tells us there certainly is something besides all that we strive for and fight to survive for, and when we lose everything here in our own little world, there is something more. It is why I love sci-fi and speculative fiction: “There are more things in heaven and earth, Horatio, than are dreamt of in your philosophies.” -from Shakespeare’s Hamlet. This makes it hard for me to meditate. Instead, I ponder on all the possibilities. I call it “entertaining the what-ifs,” and I find it quite enjoyable! I have grown to be able to comfortable with the possibilities I ponder. Now, that is something.

Thank you 🙂 For taking the time to answer
my questions & the best of luck with your new book:

“Detours in Time”

Feisty Tabatha, a struggling artist, and Milt, an awkward Science professor, set off on a journey to the future. What was supposed to be fun soon turns quite intense when they make discoveries about their future selves and end up on other “detours.” The two set events into action that may save one life, yet destroy another. Both Milt and Tabatha struggle to witness and not participate in a place and time that is not yet their own. Amid the backdrop of a future that reveals great wonders and horrors, Tabatha and Milt must resist the temptation to use discoveries from future technology to aid them when they return to the present. Detours in Time starts as a fantastic escape and grows to present many moral dilemmas and surprises that can either destroy the strongest friendship or bring two people closer.

detours-time

 

amazon-button-buy

Leave a Reply

