‘R.J. Castille’

goddddToday, I’d like to welcome R.J. Castille, author of “Goddess” to The Thursday Interview. Before we get started, a quick intro!

R.J. Castille was born in 1976 and lives in Southern California. She has been writing short stories and poetry since grade school and never ceased to feed her desire to write. Encouraged by her Mother, R.J. Castille set out to complete her first published, full-length, Erotic Romance novel, Goddess. Her tenacious nature drove her forward as her first manuscript came to fruition. Her goal is to provide true to life entertainment.

OK – HERE WE GO !!

No.1 Would you break the law to save a loved one? .. why? Drawing the line at any crime that would harm another being, I have, and would again break the law for a loved one (albeit nothing serious). To preserve another life is one of the core meanings of life. If someone I love is in serious danger, and all other options have run out, I believe the only choice is obvious.

No.2 What is the difference between being alive and truly living? You wake up, go to work, drive home, eat dinner, go to bed, repeat. That is how it is for most of the people that inhabit the world. To live is to simply breathe. To take up space on this planet we call Earth. In order to truly live, you must break out of that shell. Destroy the chains of monotony that bind you to your daily grind. Take the time to appreciate those around that truly care about you. Most of all, never let the dreams that keep you alive die.

No.3 What motivates you to write? I write not from my mind but from my soul. I believe that God has blessed me with the gift to put illustrative thoughts into writing. I finally stopped wasting that gift and wrote Goddess. I am motivated by this fact and the story that nags in the back of my mind, begging to be told. In the case of Goddess, my Mother encouraged me to write the novel. I am currently encouraged by accolades from my readers, positive reviews on my book and the honor of winning the Drunken Druid Award.

No.4 Why do humans want children? The decision to have children is made for many reasons. Some decide they want to have some meaning or purpose in their life. Others may try for a child to mend a broken relationship, in hopes it will bring them closer together. Carrying on a family name is important in many cultures and is of highest value in other cases. Some children are unintentional but would not be returned for anything in the world once you look them in the eyes for the first time. Whatever the reason, children are the most common tie in human culture and they hold our future ultimately in their hands.

No.5 What was the biggest challenge in creating your book “Goddess”? Working a full-time job is not conducive to a writing career. Add in a couple teenaged daughters and occasional emotional difficulties and the writing process took longer than expected. In January 2016 however, my New Year’s Resolution was to finish Goddess by the end of the year. By August it was finished and ready for editing, ahead of schedule. IT was a long two-and-a-half years, but I launched Goddess that fall and never looked back.

No.6 What is the most important thing you have learned in life so far? People take each other for granted too often. The person closest to us, often overlooked, frequently ignored, passes through our shadows as we travel through life, supporting and encouraging us behind the scenes often without thanks. Sadly, my life lesson is that you should never look at the people in your life and dismiss them in favor of anything. Material possessions, money, drugs, it is all a meaningless in the end. You cannot live that way too long without the consequences reflecting in your empty and lonely life: devoid of those who once cared for your, forced out of your life in the name of something else.

No.7 How did you come up with the title “Goddess”? The main character, Leila King, goes by the name Goddess when she is active in her dominatrix role. The title Goddess comes from her pseudonym that she uses during her BDSM role-play and also portrays her powerful demeanor when she takes on that role.

No.8 How do you handle personal criticism? Personal criticism is part of life. In the case of an author like myself, I use it to enhance my writing. When I see my reviews, I love to see reasons why it fell below five stars. Please tell me why?!!? I want to reply, but in many cases I have no way to ask. There is always room for improvement.

No.9 Why should people read your book? There are many reasons I can say that people should read Goddess. To highlight the most crucial: I would say that I wrote this book for an intended audience that would satisfy both the mainstream and fetish or erotica fans alike. It is written in such a way that is not overly offensive and has a creative way of addressing the true BDSM lifestyle for those offended by the portrayal of or were misled by the droves of other stuff out there. I intended to write true-to-life fiction. This book is somewhere between Fifty Shades of Grey and The Sleeping Beauty series by Anne Rice. Goddess is also on sale during the month of May 2017 in celebration of Women’s Month.

No.10 Why is there something rather than nothing? Without the hope of something, humans would lead very different lives. A dream of something different, something better, something grander. The push that drives us all and keeps us motivated to the end. In its absence, our lives would take on a completely different meaning.

Thank you 🙂 For taking the time to answer
my questions & the best of luck with your new book:

Goddess

Leila King leads a double life. In reality, she is a normal woman with everyday problems. A tough job as the Executive Assistant to an overbearing boss, whose sole purpose in life seems to be to make her life miserable. As a powerful dominatrix in her other world, Leila takes on the persona of Goddess and rules with an iron fist. When her two worlds collide one night, Leila is faced with a choice. Goddess portrays a power-struggle that spills over into both Leila’s worlds culminating in a whirlwind of difficulties she must face with while involved in a love triangle that is sure to have Leila on the edge of chaos.

goddess

amazon-button-buy

Leave a Reply

