‘A.C. Greenlee’

ac-gToday, I’d like to welcome A.C. Greenlee, author of “Genesis: The Awakening” to The Thursday Interview. Before we get started, a quick intro!

Author A.C. Greenlee is an award-winning creator of Paranormal Romance, High Fantasy and adventure novels. An avid gamer, you will most frequently find her farming experience in an online multiplayer game, or progressing up the military ranks in competitive first-person shooters–when she’s not writing of course. With a B.F.A in Creative Writing and a recently completed M.F.A of the same degree path, A.C. is extremely enthusiastic about embarking on the epic quest of university level graphic design and hopes she has enough poultices, chocolate and coffee to see her through.

OK – HERE WE GO !!

No.1 Would you break the law to save a loved one? .. why? The short answer is yes. In a heartbeat. The bonds I share with my loved ones mean more to me than any law ever could. Although it’s easy to say that for small infractions, such as running a red light or even assault, it’s difficult to imagine myself committing murder to save someone I loved. Because it’s selfish to think that the lives of my loved one means more than someone else’s.

No.2 What is the difference between being alive and truly living? In my opinion, being alive is the act of existing. We are all alive in the most basic way that we draw breath into our lungs and have healthy brain function. But truly living is another concept entirely. To me, truly living doesn’t even begin until you’re sixty. It’s the ability to be so carefree, so forgiving and open that nothing and no one can tear you down.

No.3 What motivates you to write? My characters motivate me in all aspects of life. I spend weeks, sometimes even years developing these people until they are as realistic as possible, and only when they speak to me do I know I’ve finished my task. I write because I want to tell their stories. I want to get to know them and because I want others to know them as well as I do. When I sit down at my computer to work on a story I’m doing it for the sole advantage of getting to go on another adventure with my favorite people in the world.

No.4 Why do humans want children? Other than the biological predisposition to reproduce, I couldn’t fathom why. More power to those who want them but I’ll keep my distance, thank you very much. I would suppose that some people want to pass on their genes, to carry on their lineage or just have a companion (or two), someone they can love unconditionally. All very valid reasons, but I’ll stick to my dog.

No.5 What was the biggest challenge in creating your book “Genesis: The Awakening”? Overcoming myself. Genesis is by far the largest body of work I’ve ever created. It took three years to write and two more before I was ready to hand it over to my publisher for review. I became so attached to it that, at one point, I was certain it would never see the light of day. But after I overcame my own separation anxiety and the fear of sharing such an intimate part of myself with the world, I was happier than I’ve ever been finally seeing it on shelves.

No.6 What is the most important thing you have learned in life so far? Through many trials I’ve learned that, regardless of who you are, how old you are or what you’re going through, no one can make you do anything you don’t want to do. Not a parent, spouse, teacher, doctor or even that little voice in the back of your head that tells you to jump when you’re too close to a ledge; you don’t have to listen to a word they say.

No.7 How did you come up with the title “Genesis: The Awakening”? I went through three or four titles before I settled on Genesis. When you look at the core of the story, it is both the beginning or Genesis of the series and it features a few biblical themes that actually took place in the Genesis book of the Bible. While it is in no way a religious work, I enjoyed playing with the idea of Eve being led into temptation by Lucifer himself, and overcoming he lying bastard by kicking major demon butt.

No.8 How do you handle personal criticism? Most authors will tell you that you have to develop a thick skin to survive in this industry. Personally, I just cry about I and move on. I think that allowing yourself time to actually feel and then cope with something is healthy. If I’m criticized and it’s not constructive or won’t help me improve at something, depending on it’s severity I may ignore it altogether. Water off a ducks back.

No.9 Why should people read your book? People should read Genesis because they want a story that’s also an experience. If you want to laugh, cry, fall in love and dismantle destructive demonic patriarchies all from the comfort of your favorite reading chair, Genesis is the book for you.

No.10 Why is there something rather than nothing? There’s always something, even if it appears there’s nothing there. An empty glass is still a glass, regardless of the missing liquid that once filled it’s depths. Even nothing itself is something, the absence of a presence is still felt like anything else. When you miss someone because they’re no longer there, your memory of them fills the nothing they left behind.

Thank you 🙂 For taking the time to answer
my questions & the best of luck with your new book:

“Genesis: The Awakening”

Cursed with enhanced mental abilities and consistently degrading eyesight, VICTORIA BOUCHARD is a walking medical phenomenon most talented neuroscientists could never hope to unravel. As she struggles to cope with the news of her impending blindness, she learns of a deranged serial killer deemed by the FBI as the ‘Ghoul Butcher’ who’s rapidly making his way towards her humble University in the heart of Rural Iowa. With police on a manhunt and the locals in a frenzy, her visual health is suddenly the least of her worries. On the other hand, her lover and best friend KAIZER DRESDEN is determined to keep his distance from the case as it unfolds. As a Grim Reaper, stripped of his powers and exiled from his home world to serve out a three hundred year sentence on Earth; he knows he would be the prime suspect in the eyes of the immortals who banished him. But with the seemingly unstoppable Ghoul cutting a swath right for them, he and Victoria have no choice but to take matters into their own hands and investigate the murders in order to protect his new found home.

gen

amazon-button-buy

Leave a Reply

