‘DW Plato’

dw.pToday, I’d like to welcome DW Plato, author of “The Sinners’ Club” to The Thursday Interview. Before we get started, a quick intro!

DW Plato has wanted to write books as long as she can remember. As a child, if anyone ever asked her what she wanted to be when she grew up, an author was the hands down answer. After raising her daughter and spending twenty years in corporate America’s rat race, her dreams have finally come true. On a personal note, DW lives in Santa Fe county, New Mexico. She loves to travel and write or write and travel, those being her favorite activities. When asked where her favorite place to travel is, she replied, “Somewhere I’ve never been.”

OK – HERE WE GO !!

No.1 Would you break the law to save a loved one? .. why? Yes, the short answer is laws are made to be broken but my loved ones are not. And once it’s done there’s no place for regret.

No.2 What is the difference between being alive and truly living? Everyone is alive but few are truly living. To be alive is to be breathing, eating, sleeping. To be truly living is to be loving the things you do, loving the people around you, loving fresh experiences and being pushed outside your comfort zone. For twenty years, I worked in a corporate America job, I was alive. Even though I was making okay money and had security I was miserable. I never felt I was truly living until I followed my heart and created my own dreams. I work more hours now, make less money, the security blanket has been cast aside but my life is so full and complete, only now am I truly living. Short answer: Truly living requires one to look inside themselves, ask what makes your heart sing, then follow that route. That leap of faith is scary, but necessary.

No.3 What motivates you to write? Life. Love. Humor. History. Heartbreak. Death. I’ve wanted to be an author my whole life. It took a tragedy in my family, dark grief to settle over me, depression and all-encompassing sadness to get me to actually appreciate the shortness of this life and finish my first novel. Now, I tap into that sadness when necessary, but I also am motivated by the prospect of getting better, becoming a master at the craft, more published books and the idea that one day, my writing may pay the bills.

No.4 Why do humans want children? Humans want children? I think this is an assumption. I never wanted children (and to be honest, I don’t think my parents did either. And now I think about it, my kid doesn’t want one… anyway…) Once I had my daughter, I couldn’t envision my life without her. Now she’s an adult I realize the real challenge of parenting; having an adult child is much trickier than dealing with a toddler or teenager. Back to the question, the only reason I could imagine anyone wanting children is to create a better generation than the one you were raised. I truly believe the kids of today are the world’s future and it’s brighter now than ever!

No.5 What was the biggest challenge in creating your book ”The Sinners’ Club” ? There’s a learning curve for new authors, that was my biggest challenge. The original manuscript was over six hundred pages and the editor cut huge chunks of it at a time. That was painful and eye opening, especially when he told me I needed a remedial English class if I were to ever make it in this field. Editing and Marketing are more challenging to me than writing. The most recent challenge is writing the second book, now I know what to expect and the ‘rules’, it seems harder and not as organic. When I wrote The Sinners’ Club I just wrote. Now I feel I’m over thinking things, wondering if I did this or that ‘right’, curious how the new book will be received (or not).

No.6 What is the most important thing you have learned in life so far? That life is short. (and so is this answer…) In all seriousness, that’s what I’ve learned. Life is short. Don’t waste it being wasted. Don’t waste it giving your love to someone that doesn’t deserve it. Don’t waste it working a forty hour a week job that makes you miserable. I watched my mother die of cancer seventeen months before retirement after being married to an alcoholic for forty years. I wonder sometimes if she ever truly lived. That’s not the way I’m going out. I’m living like every day could be my last, in gratitude and in love. That’s the most important thing I’ve learned in life… so far.

No.7 How did you come up with the title “The Sinners’ Club”? The original title was The Convert; A story of hypocrites. No one (but me) liked that. My cousin told me it wasn’t engaging, my editor said it was a turn off and my little brother said ‘boring’. So… There’s a point in the novel where one character (Tish) says, “Tune in weekly to the sinners’ club.” When I suggested that as a title, everyone’s eyebrows shot up and they all said, ‘There you go, that’s intriguing.’ I had the cover pictured in my head since the inception of the novel, and the cover turned out better than I could have dreamed. Well, it all turned out better than I could have dreamed.

No.8 How do you handle personal criticism? Like everyone one else, I cry and get defensive. LOL! (but seriously…) Recently I’ve learned to handle criticism better than I have in the past. (This is affiliated with the uppercase D in handwriting, just an FYI-I changed my D just for that reason… anyway…) Now I view criticism as an opportunity to get better. I firmly believe no one can please all of the people all of the time, so now I just strive to please myself and hearing reproach from readers/editors/marketers/relatives is more of a tool for me to improve my writing and life. (And yes, if you change your handwriting, you can change your behavior…)

No.9 Why should people read your book? Hhhmmmm… If I did my job right, my book will leave the reader nodding their head and saying, ‘yup, I get that’ or at the very least scratching their heads and saying, ‘who knew?’. The Sinners’ Club addresses religious questions that have no answers, racism that strangely still exists in today’s society and discrimination of LGBT people within the confounds of the Mormon Church. I would hope people would read my book to be entertained, and I hope they are.

No.10 Why is there something rather than nothing? This is a trick question. At times, there is something rather than nothing, but other times, there is nothing. Again, looking at being satisfied and fulfilled in life, I think a person must be just as comfortable having nothing as having something. One cannot fully appreciate the things they have if they’ve never NOT had. For example, activities/entertainment, if you can’t be bored, you can’t fully appreciate being entertained.

Thank you 🙂 For taking the time to answer
my questions & the best of luck with your new book:

The Sinners’ Club

In the town of Pleasant, one young man will challenge faith itself for the woman he loves. Gaius Stewart is handsome, smart and charismatic. Elizabeth Anderson is beautiful, selfless and caring. There’s only one problem: he’s a self-proclaimed Pagan, and she’s a devoted member of The Church of Latter Day Saints. When Gaius’ beloved mother passes away and leaves him with a surprising confession revealing his unknown father’s past, he drives off to the town of Pleasant, Utah, in the heart of Mormon America. What begins as a journey for truth takes a turn and becomes a battle of beliefs for the soul of an unexpected romance. Can Elizabeth find a reason to believe in something bigger than her ingrained faith through a man who claims to be Pagan? Is love outside of her faith possible? The new guy definitely thinks so.

sinn

amazon-button-buy

Leave a Reply

