‘Mari Reiza’

physToday, I’d like to welcome Mari Reiza, author of “Physical” to The Thursday Interview. Before we get started, a quick intro!

Mari Reiza was born in Madrid in 1973. She has worked as an investment research writer and management consultant for twenty years in London. She studied at Oxford University and lives off Portobello Road with her husband and child. She has also written Inconceivable Tales, a collection of short-stories, Mum, Watch Me Have Fun! and STUP, two novellas, as well as Marmotte’s Journey, West bEgg, Room 11 and Triple Bagger, all novels. Lately she has been spending an unprecedented amount of time to and from hockey practices and swimming galas (not hers!) and awaiting her husband at the dinner table, when she’s not writing by her window.

OK – HERE WE GO !!

No.1 Would you break the law to save a loved one? .. why? Mostly yes, I think. I pray that once faced with the situation I would be in no doubt of what to do. And once it’s done there’s no place for regret.

No.2 What is the difference between being alive and truly living? Being alive is passive. Embracing life requires courage and vitality but brings reward. At least to me it has. Life is a gift and it seems bad manners not to welcome it with open hands.

No.3 What motivates you to write? I write for many reasons. My first novel I wrote because I had been hurt by someone and was trying to find a logic to what he had done. It took me four hundred pages and I still wasn’t certain. I also write for things not to be forgotten, to test the limits and see how mad things sound (or how sensible!), and to spice life up when it’s boring; although I’ve found it can get so surreal you need to make up very little to have a good story.

No.4 Why do humans want children? I don’t have an answer for that question but for me it was an urge. And having fought against infertility for long, I can personally say every miscarriage was a source of tremendous pain and my only child feels like a miracle. There needs to be no reason for love; the longing came and was unstoppable.

No.5 What was the biggest challenge in creating your book ”Physical” ? Talking about vaginas. The world of female desire… We don’t talk enough of our physical desires, or perhaps it’s just me. We marry and turn relationships into Ltds and our desires die, unheard. Middle-age hormones probably alerted me to that and I needed to shout it out but kept thinking, What on earth will my friends say if they read this!

No.6 What is the most important thing you have learned in life so far? That things are bound to be very different to anything you plan. That you should welcome good times with your arms open. That you should always, always, always stand up for yourself; I could not stress this last one enough. It has costed me dearly but I have never regretted it. Life is long and it is often difficult to understand who you are, but if you don’t do what you want then it’s even harder.

No.7 How did you come up with the title “Physical” ? It was a feeling. Sometimes desire overtakes you and you are more animal than human. I seemed to be talking so much in the book about the female body and its urges that it seemed an appropriate title, open to a good strapline perhaps: ‘Let’s get PHYSICAL!’

No.8 How do you handle personal criticism? At the beginning it hurt. I checked reviews for my favourite authors on Amazon, for books I believe are masterpieces, and they had one star reviews too. I felt enraged for them! But then I guess we are so many people and think so many different things and that’s the beauty. And the thing is some people like to write, and some like to review, and some like to criticize even when they had not written a thing in their life and when you confront them they may change their view in two ticks. I’m an Indie author. I don’t write to be liked or to sell more. I write because I feel like saying what I think and putting an idea out there. Any review I get good or bad is fine for me.

No.9 Why should people read your book? Many a lover once will piss themselves with laughter. Many a wife and mother will laugh and cry. Many a feminist will cheer. Many a husband will sneer. Physical is funny, witty, entertaining, raw. It’s life as life should be, lived with passion.

No.10 Why is there something rather than nothing? It’s only nine in the morning and I already got a smile, a hand on my hand, a peck on my cheek and some desirous eyes on my eyes. It’s everything. Never say we have nothing.

Thank you 🙂 For taking the time to answer
my questions & the best of luck with your new book:

Physical

In a small town in northern Italy, Kiki feels worthless and angry when her longtime partner finds a new cool girl to ride on another decade of easy existence. Meanwhile in trendy London, Fátima, the wife of Kiki’s best friend, is losing her selfhood after giving birth to twins and being made redundant. Both heroines are determined to rebuild the passion and impunity of their youth, vitalising desires that will bring them to risk everything…

phy

amazon-button-buy

Leave a Reply

