‘Robert Brown’

shatt-rbToday, I’d like to welcome Robert Brown, author of “Shatterbones” to The Thursday Interview. Before we get started, a quick intro!

Robert Brown is a member of the Horror Writers Association and is passionate about writing. He is a happy husband, proud father, and is a traveler. Born in California, he learned not to live in one place for too long as his family passed along restless genes. After six months in California he lived in Germany, Texas, Colorado, Hawaii, Oregon, Illinois, Hawaii again, Nevada, New Hampshire, South Dakota, and finally has chosen Oregon as his place of permanent residence. He enjoys shooting, hiking, apocalyptic/horror/zombie media of all sorts, and chick flicks. His perfect world would be filled with firearms, chocolate, whiskey, cats, and English Bulldogs.

OK – HERE WE GO !!

No.1 Would you break the law to save a loved one? .. why? I would absolutely break the law to save a loved one with a few caveats. If they did something malicious such as blowing up a building or setting fires and hurting people, any major violent crime, I would have to let them face whatever punishment or danger they placed themselves in and keep my background clear to care for the rest of my loved ones.

No.2 What is the difference between being alive and truly living? Being alive is what any amoeba, plant, or parasite can do. It often requires minimal effort, no intelligence, and living things that are just alive, including some humans aren’t necessarily useful in a positive manner. Truly living is continually finding things to give joy and fulfillment in life and deciding to pursue them in spite of the obstacles and pitfalls that we may run into because of previous decisions we have made.

No.3 What motivates you to write? Writing gives me an outlet for the crazy or obscure ideas that enter my mind while dreaming, daydreaming, or just considering the complexities and weirdness of the world. Without writing, I would have to find people willing to sit down and listen to me tell a story for eight to twelve hours which is not an easy feat.

No.4 Why do humans want children? For immortality, curiosity, and to perpetuate a legacy in flesh so to speak. Artists of all sorts have creations that live beyond them, whether a writer, architect, painter, builder, musician, etc. And even artist understand that their creations will have a limited audience and finite life as well. For curiosity, I think people are genuinely curious what a version of themselves and another person would turn out to look and be like. In a way like throwing two colors of paint at a canvas to create a painting.

No.5 What was the biggest challenge in creating your book ”Shatterbones” ? Doing the research to find the right setting locations around the world and finding appropriate names for my characters that not only felt right when naming them but were appropriate for the area they came from. Naming my characters is a grueling process that I spend almost as much time on as when picking names for my real children.

No.6 What is the most important thing you have learned in life so far? Everything that happens to me in life is the result of decisions I have made. No matter the outcome, bad or good, every choice I have made led me to the life I am living. Even the simple things like shaving or not shaving changes the outcome. Choosing to shave may keep me of the road for an extra five minutes allowing me to avoid a car accident. Buying a new videogame may keep me from finishing my next book as soon as I like. No matter what the outside forces are in the world, my place in it is a result of my own making.

No.7 How did you come up with the title “Shatterbones”? It was a struggle at first coming up with a way to describe what happened to the people in the book. The Shattering was the original name and is the proper term for the condition in the story, but Shatterbones is the slang name the kids with Vampirism call their change so I used that.

No.8 How do you handle personal criticism? Personal criticism I handle fairly well if it is justified. I am decently self-reflective and know many of my faults on a first name basis at this point in my life. I am less accepting of criticism that is designed to be mean or non-constructive and am apt to throw twice as much criticism back at someone who was intentionally trying to be cruel for no justified reason.

No.9 Why should people read your book? It is a great story. Shatterbones is an exciting, action packed tale of loss, survival, distrust, love upheaval, destruction, and renewal. It has good villains, bad heroes, and a unique story of how vampires, werewolves, and other monsters of folklore came into existence. People should read my book because it is entertaining and will take them to a familiar yet starkly different world.

No.10 Why is there something rather than nothing? It’s a matter of perspective in a science fiction sort of way. Perhaps in another other universe or a different dimension there is so much activity and action of a sort we cannot comprehend that by comparison our Earth and the universe it resides in is considered nothing by whatever beings reside there.

Thank you 🙂 For taking the time to answer
my questions & the best of luck with your new book:

Shatterbones

The first day of The Shattering nearly becomes an extinction level event when the hope for humanity’s future mutates into ancient monsters of folklore. Size, strength, and speed are among their abilities. A hunger for human flesh or blood are among their needs. Rounded up and placed in camps, the survivors of the apocalypse are helpless against the abilities their captors now possess. The choice to allow humans their freedom or keep them enslaved and used as cattle is made independently by mutants around the globe. A vampire called The Angel, decides she will not allow the world to remain a place where the slavery of mankind is permitted to exist. If she is successful in saving humans from their oppressors, how will she and her kind be able to coexist with man? If she fails, what future remains for the human race?

shatter

amazon-button-buy

Leave a Reply

