‘Shaan Ranae’

shaanToday, I’d like to welcome Shaan Ranae, author of “Just Live” to The Thursday Interview. Before we get started, a quick intro!

An Ohio native who brings a small taste of her home state to each story. She’s happily married with two amazing children. She found her love of romance after reading a very popular romance series. After that she was addicted, a self proclaimed romance book junkie. Her love for the written word has grown and with that love so has her writing style.

OK – HERE WE GO !!

No.1 Would you break the law to save a loved one? .. why? My mother would probably kill me for admitting this, but yes, I probably would. I am a mother and a nurse, so my instincts will always lean toward saving someone. I have this ability to put others first and I wouldn’t fear facing the consequences if it meant I could save someone that I loved.

No.2 What is the difference between being alive and truly living? Great question. I look at it like this. Being alive is simply existing, going through the motions. Waking up just to perform the same routine every day. Actual living consists of taking chances and gaining new experiences. Attempting to live your dreams and going on adventures.

No.3 What motivates you to write? Honestly, I wait to become inspired. If a story pops into my head, I write down a vague outline and then build on it from there. Then I build the story as I go, sometimes I’ll follow the outline, but then I completely veer of the track. The story may unfold in a different way than I thought.

No.4 Why do humans want children? Sometimes I wonder that myself. Ha Ha. I love my spawn. Sometimes I think people have children because they feel they should and others do it for the wrong reasons. I can only answer for myself and truthfully both of my children were unplanned. Neither time was I trying to get pregnant, but when it occurred my husband and I viewed the pregnancy as a gift.

No.5 What was the biggest challenge in creating your book ”Just Live” ? Time. The time to complete every little task that goes along with publishing a book. Now that I am a little seasoned, it wasn’t as frustrating but of course there are always bumps in the road, but those are the thing that I’ll remember. On another note, editing will always be my biggest challenge. I try to edit myself a few times, before I send it out. I think that I am learning so much, but I recognize that I still have more to learn.

No.6 What is the most important thing you have learned in life so far? Don’t take life too seriously. Life is fleeting. I deal with life and death every day. I decided to start writing since I knew that life was too short not to take a shot at my dream. A life full of regrets leaves a heavy heart. I don’t like that feeling. I know that I am showing my children to go after what they want in life.

No.7 How did you come up with the title “Just Live”? The story came to me one day at work and I ran the idea by my co-workers. I gave them the plot I was thinking of and how I thought that I could either make the lead character a shut in or I can make her take her life by the horn and live. My brain kept repeating the words Just Live. Once I thought of changing the name to Perfection, but this name fits better.

No.8 How do you handle personal criticism? Not everyone will like what I write and that’s okay. Everyone has a right to like what they like. Although a side note to the overly critical critic out there, I hope they remember that when they leave a nasty review that they are picking apart someone’s dream. It’s okay if they don’t like it but hopefully they use tact and class. However, when you enjoy a book, I highly recommend leaving a review. I love hearing when a reader couldn’t put my book down or I made them feel every emotion. It’s so heartwarming to know that I made someone happy with just following my dream.

No.9 Why should people read your book? I write to give readers an escape into a world away from their own. To get away from the drama in our lives and take a mini vacation from reality. I write to entertain the reader with a little drama, a little steam and a little humor. All the best qualities of life. My stories will hopefully be fast fun reads that will make the reader smile and will tug at their heart strings.

No.10 Why is there something rather than nothing? Well isn’t it obvious, something is a lot more fun than nothing. As human beings, we are programmed to want something, do something, or be something. Nothing is dull. If we did nothing we would be existing.

Thank you 🙂 For taking the time to answer
my questions & the best of luck with your new book:

Just Live

When Kathryn James was a little girl she wished for true love in the fairy dust that resides in each ray of light. Now as an adult, she only finds pain and neglect from the ones who are supposed to love her. After she escapes a two year long torture, she proceeds cross country to start a new life. She attempts a life without fear, pain and possibly love. While upon her journey, Katey will meet people who teach her lessons on love, however Jaz Carter will teach her the most important lesson of all. Will she be brave enough to follow Jaz on his unorthodox path or will fear keep her from the things she wants most?

Will Katey hide away from the world or will she learn to Just Live?

just

photo

Leave a Reply

