‘JP Cawood’

crawfordToday, I’d like to welcome JP Cawood, author of “Love from Mars” to The Thursday Interview. Before we get started, a quick intro!

JP Cawood has developed television series & pilots for Syfy Network, TLC, Investigation Discovery, Destination America, History Channel, Lifetime Movie Network, and Pivot/Participant. Now telling stories through books, JP writes science fiction/fantasy because the future is now and imagination is the key that unlocks all great mysteries. As a lifelong student of the mystical unknowns, JP has traveled the world in search of truth, beauty, and goodness. JP has lived in France, Britain, India, and many cities across America.

OK – HERE WE GO !!

No.1 Would you break the law to save a loved one? .. why?
Yes, especially if I didn’t believe in a particular law. There are some really absurd limitations in the law books, and history shows us that might makes right – which is not always the morally correct thing to do.

No.2 What is the difference between being alive and truly living?
To me, truly living means to be fully present in any given moment, not worrying about anything from the past or in the future. This is very hard to do, but meditation helps. I find the more I meditate, the longer bursts of purity I experience.

No.3 What motivates you to write?
I’m inspired to write when I am struck by a story I feel I must tell. I’m less motivated when I want to write, but don’t know what to say. Going outside for a walk, sitting down to meditate, or having a conversation with a friend are all good ways to spark the creative flow.

No.4 Why do humans want children?
I think the desire to procreate happens on multiple levels; biologically, mentally, emotionally, and spiritually. We all have a natural bodily instinct toward sex. Mentally, we’re driven by the idea of keeping our lineage alive. Emotionally, it’s the desire to love and care for another unconditionally. Spiritually, it’s giving another soul the opportunity to experience life, which also teaches you new life lessons in return.

No.5 What was the biggest challenge in creating your book ”Love from Mars” ?
This might sound strange, but the biggest challenge was dealing with formatting bugs! The writing part is enjoyable, but spending hours in a software that isn’t doing what you want it to do is infuriating. Luckily, my fiancé was kind enough to help me. I’ll probably pay someone to do it on the next book so I can focus on more writing.

No.6 What is the most important thing you have learned in life so far?
Life is full of duality, and I’ve learned to be thankful for the contrast, or so called bad aspects, because that is the fodder that puts change in motion. Without the “bad” we’d have no motivation to strive for the good. When we focus on the bad, we get more bad. When we focus on the good (without attachment to the outcome) we manifest more good in our lives.

No.7 How did you come up with the title “Love from Mars”?
I wanted something short and sweet that clearly stated the premise of the book. It’s a love story about the first six people going to Mars so it felt right. I also checked to make sure there weren’t other books with the same title.

No.8 How do you handle personal criticism?
This is a constant learning experience for me as I love to please other people. But I also love improving myself so I try to look for the constructive part of the criticism. Can I improve in that area? If so, I try to take active steps to do so. If the criticism seems unwarranted, then I just try to forget it and move on. I love this Andy Warhol quote: “Don’t think about making art, just get it done. Let everyone else decide if it’s good or bad, whether they love it or hate it. While they are deciding, make even more art.”

No.9 Why should people read your book?
People should read Love from Mars because it’s a look into the near future and what it might be like for humans to begin colonizing Mars. But more than anything, it’s a love story about the power of human connection, which is something we’ll need to remember and hold dear as we move out into the cosmos.

No.10 Why is there something rather than nothing?
Everything exists because consciousness is alive and constantly changing, constantly creating. Consciousness wants to experience itself over and over again, in new and surprising ways. I’m fascinated by the meaning of life (and even made a documentary about it at Burning Man) and I personally believe that the ultimate purpose is to realize the self and merge it with the supreme consciousness – which is no easy task!

Thank you 🙂 For taking the time to answer
my questions & the best of luck with your new book:

“Love from Mars”

Six people have been chosen to colonize Mars, including the charismatic and noble Ryan Clarke. Emma, a headstrong reporter, meets Ryan at the Martian Six press conference. Despite the fact that he has a one-way ticket to another planet, they can’t resist their undeniable connection. When their secret affair is uncovered, they must suffer the consequences of the scandal they’ve unknowingly created. The day of the mission launch, their whirlwind romance is rocked by another shocking revelation. Can their love transcend all space and time?

33411007

photogrs

One thought on “‘JP Cawood’

Leave a Reply

