‘Lisa A. Baeringer’

bet1Today, I’d like to welcome Lisa A. Baeringer, author of “Bet You Didn’t Think MS Could Look This Good” to The Thursday Interview. Before we get started, a quick intro!

Lisa is a Philadelphia, PA (USA) native and continues to reside there with her husband and two sons. She’s a featured author of Cedar Loft Publishing and the creator of the popular Facebook group: “The Writers’ Plot.” Lisa was a contributing author of the book: “Something On Our Minds: Vol. 2.” She’s had blog posts featured on various websites and has contributed articles to several magazines.

OK – HERE WE GO !!

No.1 Would you break the law to save a loved one?…why?
I’d like to think that I would but one never really knows how they’ll react in an intense situation. I was raised to think about others first before myself so the safety and well-being of a loved one is paramount. The repercussions of breaking the law would be a price I’d be willing to pay.

No.2 What is the difference between being alive and truly living?
This is a great question. Being alive is just going through the motions and unfortunately we all experience this more times than we’d like to admit. Truly living is when excitement and passion runs through your veins like electricity. Seeking out new adventures and really being in the moment will set you on the path of truly living. So savor your food and drink, laugh until your sides hurt, and love with a fierce intensity.

No.3 What motivates you to write?
I don’t know what really motivates me. An idea, a scene, or a conversation between 2 fictional characters pops into my head and I feel this urgency to write it down before it disappears. Sometimes just people watching or paying attention to interactions and situations gives me ideas to embellish upon.

No.4 Why do humans want children?
I think a big part has to do with it being considered the norm. We grow up, get married, and have kids. Also, I think we want a piece of ourselves to live on after we’re gone.

No.5 What was the biggest challenge in creating your book?
That would be the editing process. It’s so tedious. I had an editor for the book but you still have to go through their suggestions and fix the appropriate areas. It took me a long time to get through it all since I kept procrastinating. After the 10th time of reading it you get kind of sick of your own story.

No.6 What is the most important think you have learned in life so far?
To appreciate the things you have because they could be taken away in a heartbeat. I learned this lesson the hard way after losing the sight in my right eye. We take so many things for granted, things as simple as our vision. Sadly, we don’t cherish something until it’s gone. I consistently try to remind myself of this especially during hard times.

No.7 How did you come up with the title?
Actually, my best friend kind of helped me with that. She told me I make MS look good. Then when people find out that I have Multiple Sclerosis usually the first thing they say is, “You don’t look like you’re sick.” I don’t get offended by it; before I got this I had those same misconceptions. I thought MS automatically meant a wheelchair. So the title is just basically an inside joke.

No.8 How do you handle personal criticism?
Of course, the first thing I feel is insulted or ashamed. I get down on myself but then I perk back up. Criticism comes with the territory and I try to use it to better myself. I like constructive criticism; that’s how I learn to improve on certain areas of either myself or my writing.

No.9 Why should people read your book?
Because it’s raw and brutally honest. I kept it in its diary like format since it’s my own personal journal entries. It’ll give people a completely accurate and unforgiving account of what it’s like to live with MS. Yet the sarcastic humor is what gives it its unusual levity. I want to give people hope to get through their own battles. I want to show them that when they’re at their lowest there’s a strength within themselves that they might not even be aware of.

No.10 Why is there something rather than nothing?
This question really made me think. I’m Catholic so I could give you the whole lecture about God and His creation of man. I do believe and have faith in what I’ve learned through all my years of theology classes. But to be honest I really don’t know what the meaning of life is or why this all exists. We all tend to get wrapped up in our destinations like looking forward to our next vacation, our careers, or when we get to retire. But I’m reminded of that quote, “It’s not about the destination, it’s about the journey.” Maybe it’s not our place to know why we’re here; we just need to enjoy the ride.

Thank you Lisa 🙂
For taking the time to answer
my questions & the best of luck with your new book!

bet

photogrs

Lisa had a good life; married to her high school sweetheart, two handsome sons, and a nice home. Quite literally, in the blink of an eye, her whole world turned upside down. Sickness began to not only ravage her body, but also her world. In her own words, taken from her private journal, she takes you through what daily life is like when you have a seriously incurable, chronic illness. It gets even more complicated when the illness she was told she had turns out to be something else, something rare and possibly even fatal.

.

One thought on “‘Lisa A. Baeringer’

  1. I really ejoyed the interview. Lisa seems like a down to earth person, not fake. I can relate or feel the same way that , Lisa does. 🙂 Great interview!

    Like

Leave a Reply

