‘Margaret Daly’

dus11Today, I’d like to welcome Margaret Daly, author of “Dusgadh” to The Thursday Interview. Before we get started, a quick intro!

Having written her first paranormal fantasy book at the age of forty-three, Margaret Daly took her life’s encounters and crossed a bridge to a world filled with untamed power and endless possibilities. Being raised in the hills of West Sparta, New York, Margaret lost her home and everything in it to fire at a young age. She dove into the dark world as a teenager and from there on spent most of her life wrapped up in unfortunate situations from bad choices. Margaret learned some things aren’t what you expect; some things end up being more. Now, with her loving husband and four children, a family full of support and love, she has managed to overcome all the oddities thrown at her and become the published author she once dreamed of being as a child.

OK – HERE WE GO !!

No.1 Would you break the law to save a loved one? .. why?
My kneejerk reaction is of course, yes, but I am somewhat of a logical person. (Somewhat, being the keyword in most of my life. ha) I guess it would all depend on what kind of saving. If it were a life and death situation, I would do it hands-down and worry about the consequences later. Now, if my children were involved, there is nothing I wouldn’t do to save them.

No.2 What is the difference between being alive and truly living?
To me, being alive is simple that. You have a heart beat. Truly living, is experiencing as much as possible while we are on the beautiful plane of existence. If you want to try something, try it. What are we here for anyway? Live life, enjoy all that it has to offer. Love deeply, it brings fulfillment like nothing else will and heartache like you have never experienced before but it is worth it.

No.3 What motivates you to write?
Phew, this is a difficult one for me. Motivation isn’t really the right word for me. My best answer for this would be when someone reads my debut novel and tells me they can’t wait to read more of my work. Inspiration, now that I can go with. So many things inspire me. Everyday situations whether funny or sad make me think up stories. We’ve all said, “that would be a an awesome book!”. Sometimes, I will see something beautiful or tragic and want to write a story about it. Sometimes, even the sound of a car alarm stirs crazy thoughts of a new book. It is a “wild and crazy” life!

No.4 Why do humans want children?
It is a craving to create! To replicate that which no one else can create. A unique and sometimes volatile version of you! Seriously though, I can say that after my son was born in 1993 and his father and I split, I swore I would never have more children. Then I met my ‘forever husband’! Our eyes met and blammo, that was it! There was this unexplainable need to have more children. My final answer: Love :} I know it seems sappy but that is my actual answer.

No.5 What was the biggest challenge in creating your book, ”Dusgadh: Essence Of Life” ?
There was no challenge, it was easy peasy! Ha! Actually, the entire book was difficult. I had the story built in my head. That was the easy part. Getting that story out and putting it into a fantasy, that was hard. I took real life experiences, with real life people that I have met and/or known and I had to spin it into fiction. Isn’t that what most fantasies are born from though?

No.6 What is the most important thing you have learned in life so far?
Don’t take everything in life so seriously. There are times and situations that require a person to be serious of course, but for the most part, you gotta laugh… Oh, and don’t worry about things that you have no control over. Figure out what you have control over, take care of the things that you can and then let the rest sort itself out!

No.7 How did you come up with the title “Dusgadh: Essence Of Life” ?
I spent a lot of time looking up words in the thesaurus first. I needed to find words that best described the mood and the overall plot of the book. First, there was a lot of anger, misguided and unstable. Which in I then discovered the word Inimical…but there was already a few books with that title. And besides, that didn’t describe the entire book. I had to ask myself what was happening to the main character. The answer, she was having an awakening in life–her real life. I researched Awakening and found that there were so many books with that title it wouldn’t do, but I really wanted that title. Well, I’m Irish and Scotch, which some would say are one in the same (lol). So, I researched the Scottish-Gaelic translation of Awakening. Which is Dusgadh. (I know a weird title, right.) I then went and looked up Dusgadh thinking it would be a lone title in the endless sea of books on Amazon. Well, I found something with the same title, but it wasn’t a book. It was a Music CD by Joy Dunlop. That was the clincher! You see my maiden name is Dunlop, so to me it was like a sign that I had the right title.

No.8 How do you handle personal criticism?
At this point in my life, unless it is someone that I care deeply for, I don’t take personal criticism at all. What I mean is, I don’t let it affect me at all unless someone close to me that I value the opinion of says something that hurts my feelings. If I get a book review that is a criticism, I look for something good in it. Besides, there is no way that everyone is going to like everything that I wrote, or how I wrote it. Not everyone is going to get why I wrote it the way I did, I really wrote it for me. Sure do I want to be a best seller with the first book I ever wrote, hell yeah! In reality, I don’t expect it, but will still welcome it! :}

No.9 Why should people read your book?
Why because I wrote it of course. The bottom line is this for me; if someone enjoys a fast paced, action packed mythical kind of story of legends with a few hot guys and brilliant, strong women at the center they will enjoy this book!

No.10 Why is there something rather than nothing?
What? If there was nothing there wouldn’t be something! There wouldn’t be air, water, fire, dust or trees. There wouldn’t be love, or music or dancing. The skies would be black, they woudn’t exist because there would be nothing. If there was nothing I wouldn’t be answering this question at all 🙂

Thank you Margaret 🙂
For taking the time to answer
my questions & the best of luck with your new book!

dus1

photogrs

An awakening like no other.

Ember Malloch has no idea her life is about to get turned upside down. Besides the fact that she sees the dead on occasion, she lives an ordinary mundane life. Her sister warned her not to provoke the spirits, but Ember has a mind of her own and she defies Becky at every turn. Now, her life as she knows it will be changed forever, as an unbridled strength is unleashed upon her.

She will have an awakening like no other as she learns her past, and discovers who she is…

.

3 thoughts on “‘Margaret Daly’

Leave a Reply

