‘E.J Bennett’

secrets-ejToday, I’d like to welcome E.J Bennett, author of “Secrets of the Mind” to The Thursday Interview. Before we get started, a quick intro!

E.J Bennett is a stay at home mom of two young children, a girl age 5 and a boy age 2. Due to her little boy been born with a bilateral cleft lip and palate, she wrote her first children’s book “My little brother” to help other children, as well as families who are expecting or have a baby born with a cleft lip. Although cleft lip and palate defects are one of the most common birth defects she felt there was not much information out there, especially for young children like her daughter, who did not fully understand why her baby brother had a poorly mouth. E.J Bennett lives in an old mining village in South Yorkshire, England, and loves to spend time at the holiday resort Skegness.

OK – HERE WE GO !!

No.1 Would you break the law to save a loved one and why?
Yes I would break the law to save a loved one, although the idea of being in trouble with the law or worse prison does not sit well with me. I think natural instinct would take over to protect a loved one and all rational thought would be thrown out of the window until the deed was done. Then I would think about what I have done and the consequences however it does all depend on the situation a loved one was in to whether I would break the law or not but the answer would be a definite yes if it was a life or death situation.

No.2 What is the difference between being alive and truly living?
I can’t speak for everyone when I say this and everyone will have a different opinion on the difference between alive and truly living is. To me the difference is being alive you are simply exciting and counting the days and minutes until the next day with no goals or future, people who just generally exist seem to see life as dull and meaningless. Just being alive is where people just do the necessary things they need to survive. Truly living to me means when people gain whatever they can out of life by following their dreams and looking to the future, if something goes wrong or doesn’t work out they pick themselves up and carry on or try something new. When you are truly existing you are able to see the parts of your life that are ugly and make them into something beautiful and worth while. When truly existing, you have hope and see your self worth you will chase after your dreams no matter how impossible they may seem.

No.3 What motivates you to write?
The stories that swim around my head motivate me to write. If I just write down the key points to the story that as been screaming at me all day I feel better for doing so. One of the biggest things that motivate me is seeing my story develop whether that is just a rough draft or a quick plot of the story I feel relived and happy to have set the path for my story. Finishing a story is a big motivation as there is no better feeling than finish a book.

No.4 Why do humans want children?
I have two children and I feel that most humans want children as they want a family life, raising a child sounds like a fun, engaging, challenging activity. It creates an opportunity to bond with your partner. Having children can bring you more joy and happiness than anything else in your life but they can also be very challenging and keep you on your toes. Some people feel unsatisfied until they have children and fear growing old without anyone to stand by their side. Having children can give you a friend for life.

No.5 What was the biggest challenge in creating your book ‘Secrets of the Mind’?
The biggest challenge creating my book was spellings and punctuation. I have dyslexia and find it hard to spell simple words correct at times. I try really hard to get the spellings right but more often than not my rough draft is riddled with spelling errors. At times I did feel like giving up and thought having dyslexia is making writing too hard for me, but I persevered and once I finished my book I was over the moon. I realized it doesn’t matter if my spellings are terrible as an editor and proofreader will sort them out all that matters is that I have a good story with a good plot and characters.

No.6 What is the most important thing you have learned in life so far?
The most important thing I have learned in life so far is not to give up, to keep on trying even if at times my goal seems impossible. I just walk away and come back and try again in a day or a few days time. Walking away and trying something new for awhile can really help; it gives me time to relax. Once I have done this my goal seems a lot easier to reach as I am not stressing about the failures I have just made or worrying about not reaching my goal. I am approaching with a new state of mind.

No.7 How did you come up with the title ‘Secrets of the Mind’?
It took me awhile to come up with the title Secrets of the mind at first when I was plotting my story I called it Memorise then when I finished the rough draft I named it Nightmares as I was creating the kindle cover Secrets of the mind just came to me and I liked the sound of it and thought it fit in well with the overall book.

No.8 How do you handle personal criticism?
Criticism is a part of life at some point in life everyone would have had to deal with criticism. I always try to look at the intensions of the criticism, more often than not criticism can help you become a better person in my case a better writer or help you perfect the skills of your chosen profession. However criticism of any kind can hurt, I find the best thing is not to dwell on it for too long but to rather learn from it. To me majority or criticism is constructive feedback.

No.9 Why should people read your book?
My book is directed towards young adults and teenagers I think they should read my book as it is written in first person and as a lot of thoughts and feelings portrayed inside as well as a lot of life lessons. Teenagers and young adults tend to second guess themselves and see life to be confusing. My book looks at all these factors in a unique way.

No.10 Why is there something rather than nothing?
No one can go through life wanting nothing; everyone wants something and everyone something out of life. To have nothing to look forward to, or nothing to be happy about, life would be boring. There would be no life everyone would be like zombies.

Thank you E.J 🙂
For taking the time to answer
my questions & the best of luck with your new book!

 secerts-of-the-mind

photogrs

Kayla Wilson has no memory of her childhood. Found alone and lost in the middle of the woods at the young age of eight. The Wilson’s take her in, treating her as their own. She is thrust into a new life where her nightmares become more real with each day that passes. She learns there is more to the world than she ever thought possible. Stories and legends all have some truths to them and unfortunately for Kayla she is a part of this new world whether she wants to be or not. She must adapt and fight for her life as a threat awaits her around every corner.


Can Kayla handle her new life and survive the evil of the world?
Can she uncover the secrets of her past?

Leave a Reply

