‘Jordon Greene’

treason1Today, I’d like to welcome Jordon Greene, author of “They’ll Call It Treason” to The Thursday Interview. Before we get started, a quick intro!

Writing in one form or another since he was eleven, Jordon Greene is the author of the conspiracy thriller They’ll Call It Treason and is currently brewing up a new dark psychological thriller called To Watch You Bleed. A lover of anything by James Rollins and a bit of a Star Trek nerd, Jordon works as a web developer in Concord, North Carolina where he resides with his brother Jared and two cats, Shiloh and Data.

OK – HERE WE GO !!

No.1 Would you break the law to save a loved one? .. why?
I imagine that if a time should ever come that I needed to break the law to save a loved one my first thought would probably, and hopefully, be something akin to “Eff the law!” Despite what some may believe, the law is made by faulty men and women just like us. I’m not going to let someone I love die because some legal technicality where I have the ability to prevent it.

Now on the other hand you have doing things which are not necessarily morally or legal upstanding when maybe you have no other choice to protect someone, that’s a harder question. Once that depends on a lot of variables, and one that my character Ethan Shaw has to come face-to-face with in my book They’ll Call It Treason.

It’s interesting that you would asks this question actually, because that is literally what this book comes down to. A man, Ethan Shaw, who is put into a situation, framed in this case, where he must decide how important his life and those that he loves are to him. He has to make a decision about how far he’s willing to go to protect those lives, including is he willing to break the law, even commit what some might consider treason.

No.2 What is the difference between being alive and truly living?
Being alive is simply the fact that you’re breathing and your heart is beating in your chest, you’re not dead. Truly living now, that’s so much more. To me it’s how you live, how you take this limited journey, what you make of it.

I’m alive, of course. I’m a person like anyone else. For me living is taking each day to do something productive. It’s a simple thing really. It doesn’t have to be some grand scheme or plan, I mean we’re not even guaranteed another second, let alone tomorrow, so while schemes and plans are important, it’s what we are doing now that’s most important.

On my end, I write. The way I see it is that not only do I get the mental and emotional satisfaction from putting together some new story, a mental (and also at times emotional) exercise, it means that once it is done, someone else who I may never even meet will get to take that work and allow it to entertain them. Whether it means allowing them to throw their burden on to some fictional character’s shoulders, or to escape into a world that is completely unfamiliar to them yet intriguing or simply to have a few minutes without the stress of the everyday.

No.3 What motivates you to write?
I’ve always enjoyed writing. From a young age really I dabbled in it here and there, with crazy ventures into poorly planned and executed Star Wars stories to a less than complete sci-fi venture before I ever entered high school. Thankfully, with all that behind me I have a better grasp now of what it takes to write a full-length novel, to plan the details, prepare the characters and then weave them into a coherent plot and eventually a finished book.

Really though, for me, I write because I simply enjoy it. To me it feels productive, a type of mental exercise as I mentioned earlier, and it’s wholly satisfying even when the story is not yet complete. Every piece of the process is exciting to me, well maybe except for some of the editing. But truly, finding that initial idea that sticks and that just rings a bell is awesome. Preparing the characters that will fill your story, with their intricate lives and personalities, and the weaving out a plan for where the story will start, end and how it all happens in between is exciting. Yet, there is nothing quite is neat though as finishing it up, editing and all, and coming to release day. It’s an incredible feeling to know that others are reading my work and even more so that they’re enjoying it.

No.4 Why do humans want children?
Other than the fact that I’ve no plans for the little humans personally, at least at this point in my life I don’t think so, as one episode of Star Trek: The Next Generation said, and I’m not quoting, human’s desire children because it is how we gain immortality. Yes, we die. It’s as certain an event as anything we know, but children are the one opportunity that we have as a species to prolong ourselves.

Of course there are other reasons, companionship, someone to be there for you when you are old and I’m sure the list goes on. Yet, I think a type of immortality is one of the best reasons that I’ve ever heard on the matter.

No.5 What was the biggest challenge in creating your book ”They’ll Call It Treason” ?
As my first published book, I thought my biggest challenge would be coming up with enough content to fill the story, to adequately tell it. That ended up not being a problem; instead my biggest challenge was two-fold.

One, feeling like the suspense and the surprises were not good enough, that it was too predictable. However, I quickly learned after a few beta readers and more so even now after They’ll Call It Treason’s release that I need to worry less about that. As the writer I know what is going to happen, even if I make a quick adjustment or even a major change, I know what twist or surprise is coming. So as I build up to it or drop it on the reader, to me it felt as if it was not enough, that it lacked, but that’s just because I knew exactly what to expect. Now, it still was thrilling to me to write those scenes, but different in how it is when you’re the reader of someone else’s book. So I have to keep telling myself that those scenes are fine, I still try to surprise myself, but in the end I have to move on.

The other challenge, which I never thought could possibly be this hard, was coming up with the title. I wrangled over the book’s name for months before I finally settled on one. I knew I wanted something conversational, more than a single word, but something in your face or confrontational, and what in the end what better than treason. It was harder than I thought, but in the end it’s worth wrestling over.

No.6 What is the most important thing you have learned in life so far?
That’s a hard one. In the end I’d probably say that asking questions and being willing to change is the most important lesson for me, not an easy one, but a good one. It may not be a revelation to everyone, but asking questions that challenge who you are and what you believe is a daunting task, especially when the answers you find don’t necessarily jive with what you expected or thought in important matters.

Yeah, some will say you changed, and they won’t be making the comment in a positive light. Maybe they’ll say you went off to college and lost it, or something of the sort. In the end though it’s your life and you have to live with who you are more than anyone else. It’s like the lyrics from Like a Storm’s song Love the Way You Hate Me, “When it’s all done there’s only one name upon my grave.”

I know for me there were a lot of things that I never questioned growing up, that I didn’t feel I could question. That caused me more grief I think than it helped in the end as I finally began to actually ask those questions and reason things out on my own. I’ve changed some of my values and beliefs over the years but it’s always been as a result of new information and questions that enlighten more information. Not to mention I think blind obedience is a dangerous prospect, so questioning things is a very important part of life.

No.7 How did you come up with the title “They’ll Call It Treason” ?
Originally I was going to name the book Sedition, but after some time I finally came to terms with the fact that it just did not fit the book. Sedition is an act or something spoken to incite rebellion. While I thought it could have been applicable at first, it was quickly ruled out as the story evolved. It was not until about two month or so before I finalized the manuscript that I settled on They’ll Call It Treason. After using Sedition for a while, it ended up being sort of a “working title,” I decided I didn’t really want a one word title, I wanted something conversational, something that you might would think of one of the characters actually saying at some point.

The idea of course needed to reflect the story generally, but I wanted to evoke an emotion. In this case something that drew on the main characters struggle and how it pertained to the nation that he was fighting to protect. I wanted to immediately get out the idea of how severe the consequences of the story were but at the same time show that maybe it isn’t all it seems to be, and think the title They’ll Call It Treason accomplished that. The title is actually a direct quote from the book even.

No.8 How do you handle personal criticism?
Criticism of my work can be difficult to accept at times, but I always try to approach it with the mindset that I’m just one person with my own set of opinions and that while I cannot please everyone, every criticism is useful to me. Maybe it shows something I lacked in the story, or where I could have done better, or where maybe I did not set something up in a way that is easily understood. It helps me approach the next story in a better light.

No.9 Why should people read your book?
Well, because it’s awesome! Seriously though, if someone enjoys political or conspiracy thrillers, it’s right up their alley. If you enjoy reading about someone who has everything going for them, but then finds themselves stuck in a seemingly bottomless pit of doom and how they don’t lose hope, but continue fighting to the end, this story is for you.

No.10 Why is there something rather than nothing?
I’m going to assume we’re talking about the existence of all of… this stuff, us, the planet, space, all of that. For me, it’s here because God put it here. He wanted it and he made it. I’m not worried about what that process might have been, whether it was billions of years of evolutionary change or a snappy six days, to me it’s just as spectacular and awe-inspiring that it, that we, exist period and neither view takes away from the existence of God or his ability, in my view. Now why God wanted all of this, why it was setup like it was, all of that, I don’t know and I’m not going to venture too much on the guessing there. The main point is that there is something rather than nothing.

Thank you Jordon 🙂
For taking the time to answer
my questions & the best of luck with your new book!

 treason

photogrs

 A journalist’s body is found abandoned in a Washington alleyway.

A state representative is brutally murdered in Raleigh.

A Virginia Congressman’s life is threatened by a radical militia group.

Framed for a crime he did not commit, FBI Agent Ethan Shaw will risk everything to prove his innocence and protect the ones he loves – but the truth he will uncover poses a far deeper threat. They took everything from him: his career, his partner, his freedom. How far would you go to get it all back?

Leave a Reply

