J.L. Eck.

nanToday, I’d like to welcome J.L. Eck, author of “Naupaka Blooming” to The Thursday Interview. Before we get started, a quick intro!

J.L. Eck has always dreamed of being a writer but never had the courage to pursue her dreams until she made a dramatic move to Hawaii in 2006. The islands brought her soul to life in ways she never thought possible. In 2008 she decided to finally listen to her muse and start writing. Working full time as a manager in the business world, J.L. Eck wrote on nights and weekends as she read books on the craft of writing. After getting many glowing reviews for her first novel Naupaka Blooming, J.L. Eck decided to keep writing and is now working on a new fantasy thriller series, with the first book in the series to be released early in 2017.

OK – HERE WE GO !!

No.1 Would you break the law to save a loved one? .. why?
Yes, laws are important but imperfect. I would do whatever I felt was right to save a loved one but I would never do anything immoral. I would not steal unless a loved one was starving and needed food. I would never murder anyone in cold blood but I would do whatever was needed to protect my loved one if they were under attack.

No.2 What is the difference between being alive and truly living?
Just being alive is boring – there is no growth or excitement or achievement. Truly living means taking chances, facing your fears and going after your dreams. When you are truly living you will be on a roller coaster ride and you will have exciting, wonderful moments and you will probably have heartache and tragedy. Truly living means accepting both the highs and lows. You will pick yourself back up and continue on no matter what.

No.3 What motivates you to write?
I suppose I feel the need to pass on what I’ve learned in life in story form. I’ve definitely been truly living my life as opposed to just being alive. I’ve had some really great experiences in my life and I’ve also had to deal with some major tragedies. There have been times in my life when I didn’t want to go on anymore but something pushed me forward during those trying times. Hope for better times, hope for a more peaceful world. That is what motivates me.

No.4 Why do humans want children?
I didn’t want children until my late thirties. And then suddenly, as I sat watching a relative holding their new baby, something was set off in me. I wanted that! I suppose I wanted a family of my own. Someone to love and get love back from. Someone to have fun with, and someone to pass my wisdom on to. Someone to grow old with. Maybe it’s the fear of being alone.

No.5 What was the biggest challenge in creating your book ”Naupaka Blooming” ?
The biggest challenge in creating my novel was confidence. When I started writing my novel, it was a fun little side project. I was working full time, I met and married my husband and we got married and had a child and I only wrote a few pages a month. There were some periods when I completely stopped writing for months at a time. But my muse stayed with me and she would always get me to go back to writing again. I guess I didn’t take my writing seriously because I didn’t think it would ever amount to anything. I was a bit surprised when I finally finished the novel. It all came together kind of perfectly in the end.

No.6 What is the most important thing you have learned in life so far?
Nothing matters as much as you think it does! I used to be a bit of a drama queen, especially in the romance department. Breakups were the end of the world for me when I was younger. Now I see just how little those breakups matter in the grand scheme of things. There truly are other fish in the sea! I no longer believe that we each only have one soul mate. I believe now that we all have multiple soul mates and each one is meant to make a big impact on our lives, but not all soul mates are meant to stick around forever.

No.7 How did you come up with the title “Naupaka Blooming” ?
I based my story on an ancient Hawaiian myth about the Naupaka flower, a little white flower that grows with only half its petals. It’s a tragic love story about a princess and a commoner who are not allowed to be together. The naupaka flower was a symbol of their love. I wanted to reincarnate the princess and the commoner and give them a second chance at love. Thus Naupaka Blooming.

No.8 How do you handle personal criticism?
I used to take everything quite personally but I’ve gotten better at distancing myself. I try to learn from everything now rather than take offense and get depressed or angry.

No.9 Why should people read your book?
My novel is unique, it’s definitely not the same old story. It’s hard to classify it – it’s part romance, it’s part historical and part contemporary. It’s part mystery, part coming of age, part fantasy. It’s an exciting, uplifting story about finding yourself and your place in the world. It’s got true love and villains, death and rebirth, tragedy and triumph.

No.10 Why is there something rather than nothing?
Because something is more exciting then nothing! I guess it’s better to look at life with a positive outlook than a negative outlook. I do recognize that thinking there’s nothing is a gloomy way to go through the day.

Thank you 🙂
For taking the time to answer
my questions & the best of luck with your new book!

 nau

photogrs

They weren’t supposed to fall in love, but they did. Now dark forces conspire to keep them apart, in this life and the next.

Leave a Reply

